Elbow live at The Wiltern in my Los Angeles

Living in LA can be lonely when you’re single, don’t really drink and don’t have that community you spent your 20s and 30s building. But sometimes it’s all wow and no downside. Like tonight. I’m getting to see Elbow ( one of my favorite bands ever) play live five minutes drive and 30 minutes parking from my apartment. Since it’s music to slit your wrists to it almost feels appropriate to be standing in line alone.

Who named this street "Ethanol". Secret genius, as this corner is a favorite with Hollywood's homeless drunk population, and it's rich drunk population.

Who named this street “Methanol”. Secret genius, as this corner is a favorite with Hollywood’s homeless drunk/druggie population, and it’s rich drunk/druggie population.

The long line moved fast, and then we were in. The place has a bar in every available space and service by a waitress with an illuminated tray in the theater itself.

I've always wondered what it was like inside the Wiltern. Now I know - it's amazing.

I’ve always wondered what it was like inside the Wiltern. Now I know – it’s amazing.

The bathroom. Nothing changes wherever you go. "So and so is a slut whore bitch" "So and so is an asshole" "Here, look, a cat."

The bathroom. Nothing changes wherever you go. “So and so is a slut whore bitch” “So and so is an asshole” “Here, look, a cat.”

The nosebleed seat I got was almost a pleasure, simply because the building was so beautiful. Anyhow, you don't go to SEE Elbow, so much as to listen to them.

The nosebleed seat I got was almost a pleasure, simply because the building was so beautiful. Anyhow, you don’t go to SEE Elbow, so much as to listen to them.

And I listened. And I cried. “Mirrorball” always gets me. First the tingles, then the fucking tears.

 

 

And after the show, I went to buy ice cream, then took a side street back to my car.  And after wishing I wasn’t quite so far away from my favorite band for most of the show, guess who I run into, out for a smoke behind Dennys? Elbow. They looked smaller off stage, even though I was closer now. They listened politely and exhaustedly as I gushed my thanks, feeling my faith in miracles restored.

 

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

