LA’s ever-shifting wall-art world

Most of the art I get round to seeing is painted on walls. I love the people who beautify the city I live in with their work.

1000-wallart_dovecan

A new one. I gather it’s all about peace and love.

1000_wallart_love

“All you need is the right kind of love”. Don’t I know it. And if it’s out there, it’s out of reach right now. A married friend recently gave me a well-meaning lecture about how hard love was – as if I didn’t know. But I still think life is better with it than without it, and I still believe finding it is sadly, rare.

1000_wallart_loveme

Yeah. But do it the right way. I love how you don’t even see the car advert dominating the wall.

1000_wallart_cellphone

Check out that cell phone that uses the pipe of the building as an aerial. One of my favourites, which I pass almost daily.

1000_wallart_wilternbuildingbetter

The beautiful Wiltern. I wish I could live inside it. I must go see a band there sometime. Somehow managed to miss Amos Lee when he played.

1000_wallart_wiltern

On an electricity box opposite the big Wiltern… a little Wiltern. So cute. I hope nobody messes it up.

1000wallart_chicken

A lot of the wall art that survives unscathed over the years does so because it’s high up. But unfortunately nobody’s too high up to hide from capitalism.

1000_wallartfaces

Don’t remember where I took this. It’s so cool.

1000goodnbad1

Some places need art more than others. I nearly missed this one, just after a burned out building.

1000-goodnbad6

Someone has badly defaced it so it almost blends in with the lost, run down strip of Chrenshaw, with $20 tattoo parlors, pawn shops and 99c stores competing for sparse clients.

1000goodnbad4

Punch-in: It’s like whoever defaced this with crude, pointless black paint doesn’t realise how what they are doing just underlines what the words are telling them.

1000-goodnbad3

Punch-in: A woman passing saw me looking at it and stopped to talk. “I watched the artist painting this for half an hour,” she said. “The kids who drew all over this should be arrested. That’s what we need. Zero tolerance. I live around here but it’s so dangerous.” Then she crossed the road and I wondered if I’d ever see her again.

1000-goodnbad2

Punch-in: It’s called “The Gift”. Hey whatever you think of what the artist is saying, it’s still something better to think about than what car to buy, or which four letter words to tattoo on your knuckles.

 

1000_wallart_stencil

Stencil art is big in Cape Town too. Damn the moron with the purple crayon!

But hey, let’s end with my favorite, of all time, so far unblemished.

1000_wallart_byzantine

Because in this sometimes lonely city, the writing underneath the angel picture says: We are all angels with one wing. We can only fly holding each other. I also love the paintings on the wall of the Peter Pan Market and 99c Store opposite it.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “LA’s ever-shifting wall-art world”

  1. thacourtjester Says:

    Looking at these pics make me wanna go buy a couple spray cans and start tagging up my neighbours walls, haha. Nice post!

Leave a Reply

