I’ll be back, Koreatown

For the first time while back visiting in South Africa, I miss my bed – my bed in Koreatown, Los Angeles.

It’s not that I’m not happy to be home, and or loving the time off, and the break from the backstabbing, excitement, joy and alienation that is film school… I am so, so grateful. It’s not that I didn’t hope I’d be allowed to go back to the USA every time.

It’s just that moving to Hollywood (of which Koreatown forms a part) was like finding a new home – something that’s been missing from my life for a few years now. I felt the same feeling of sudden belonging when I moved from Vredehoek to Sea Point; like I’d discovered a place where I could be myself, find myself, make myself what I was meant to be. I never much liked Orange. Ah screw that. I really can’t bear Orange. It’s not a bad place. It’s just not for me. Living there is like being smothered with lawn grass – looks great. Makes me want to scratch my face off.

And I left for SA 10 days after I moved into my little bachelor on the corner of two messy streets – half my stuff is still in boxes. It’s weird to think that the bus still stops outside my window every 10 minutes, that my next door neighbor still snores holes in the walls all night, and that life’s going on without me.

So just to touch base and to let the copious roaches know I’m coming to throw them out of their nests real soon, I’m posting these photos I took while getting to know my new neighborhood on foot one rainy day.

sign_koreatownstreet

At night, you’d never know you were in the USA, except for how wide the roads are.

sign_koreatownsweets

I can’t get into these sweets. Too chewy. But every morning, there’s a new batch at the Bakery.

sign_koreatownlivecrab

I need to buy these sometime. But I am scared to cook them. I will need an accomplice.

signkoreatownthai

Breakfast. In a Thai place. Don’t ask why – it’s just what happened.

sign_koreatownpets

There are lots of dog grooming places, called things like this, or my personal favourite: “Puppy Time!”

sign_koreatownboba

Boba Time. There are queues outside this joint every Sunday. I use it as my icafe – their internet is fast. The Boba is pretty fine, too.

sign_koreatown_papachristo

Papa Cristo Deli. Amazing food – always busy. Closed by 8pm.

sign_koreatown_reader

I don’t think I’ve ever seen anyone reading in a restaurant in Orange – not unless it was the Bible or the Newspaper.

sign_ktown_angels

The Latin Quarter borders. Actually the sign on the wall has a giant angel picture. And it says “We are all angels with one wing. We only fly holding each other.”

24 Hr Laundry with Massage Chair, and Running Machine, and Wifi.

24 Hr Laundry with Massage Chair, and Running Machine, and Wifi. But I’m not 24hr. I am human.

sign_koreatownbedroom

My bed.

The I10 South - soon to be a regular run for me as I commute to college.

Approaching Freeway Entrance on the left… soon to be a regular run for me as I commute to college.

These Christmas Lights will be gone by the time I am back.

These Christmas Lights will be gone by the time I am back.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

