Can’t get a date? Get a date shake instead!

I left something behind in Indio, CA, where I shot my film a couple of weeks ago. When I say “I” I mean my cinematographer Daniel Risk, and when I say “my” I mean our. Film is like a family. Might be your sperm/egg but you can’t do it alone.

Anyhow, of course, I have deadlines coming out of my ears and an exam first thing monday, so I lost my car keys when I stopped to take a couple of photos in the early morning on my way out.

After three hours of looking for them, walking up and down in the gravel in the hot sun scanning the ground for the glint of hope, I went back to my motel, showered, and walked to the nearest burger place. Where I took a picture of this sign.

“CAN’T GET A DATE? TRY A DATE SHAKE! YOU’LL LOVE IT.” Is that a “milkshake” reference? ‘Cause putting another 800 calories onto my ass is really going to help my chances. Mind you… I had a burger. With an egg on it. And I intend to get a shake on my way out of town.


And decided to drop the class and stay another night. Because no garages are open on Sunday here. But first, I thought, I’ll have one last look. It’s amazing the things you see when you’re looking for keys. Condoms. Burned up clothing. Vaguely collectable-looking rusted metal object. And then… boom. I remembered taking a picture of a junk yard and ran back. There were my keys, lying miraculously unharmed inches from where cars’ wheels wizzed by. Must have bounced out of my shorts’ pocket as I ran to snap the sunrise.

Things you see when you stare at the ground.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

