We have power. Please feel free to charge your cell phone.

New York… God I love you. Thanks for proving to me yet again why you’re one of my favourite cities in the world. Okay, granted, you’re sort of stealing the limelight from New Jersey, who are in much worse trouble. But it’s not hard to see why. From 911 to 2012, you’ve always risen above the ugliness of the world at the hardest of times. When others were responding with I hate Muslims, you responded with yes, a lot of sadness and confusion, and also: I LOVE NY.

And that’s why you’re great.

This gesture personifies the spirit of a city that I would live in like *snaps fingers* THAT. Los Angeles… not so much. Weather only gets you so far.

If one person goes crazy in New York, it’s only a matter of time before the whole city burns. Something tells me it won’t come to that, though. The only time I’ve been there (am visiting again soon) I was a bit lost, having walked about 70 blocks from East Harlem to the Village, and started walking back… then run out of time. I tried to get on a bus but I didn’t have the right change. A beautiful older woman I didn’t know at all paid for my ticket – just to get me through the line, but in a nice way. I thanked her. She smiled so sadly. I hung by a handrail from the ceiling of the bus.

Her phone rang. She picked up. Sighed.
“Yeah… Well… She was my mother.” She listened again. “Yeah. It’s hard. But she went gently.”

That’s what New York is about for me. It’s a city full of people where, more than you’d expect, people rise above the hardest, hardest things imaginable and yet still find the time to be kind to strangers like me.

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “We have power. Please feel free to charge your cell phone.”

  1. Gregory Goyins Says:

    It’s my favorite place on Earth.

  2. Juegos Says:

    Undeniably believe that which you said. Your favorite justification appeared to be
    on the internet the easiest thing to be aware of.
    I say to you, I definitely get irked while people consider worries that they just do not know about.
    You managed to hit the nail upon the top and
    also defined out the whole thing without having side effect , people could take a signal.
    Will probably be back to get more. Thanks

  3. case in affitto sardegna Says:

    I don’t even know how I stopped up here, but I believed this post used to be
    good. I don’t recognise who you might be but definitely you’re going to a famous blogger when you are not already.
    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

