I complain too much

Having been a journalist / columnist most of my working life, complaining has been necessary and also profitable. The problem is that it can become a habit. And it can become completely laughable to those around you. Here’s an example:

Taken by someone shooting a film at a church. The church has a real problem with cheerios. A big, yellow problem. OMG.

So I thought I’d list a few of the simple things I’m grateful for today:

  • The friends who invited me out for midnight drinks to celebrate my birthday.
  • The bouncer who insisted on carding me in case I wasn’t old enough to drink.
  • The film I wrote/directed in Busan, S. Korea, which is turning out awesomely.
  • The sound designers Kennedy and Michael, and Justin the colorist, who’ve helped turn post around on two other films.
  • My boyfriend, who took me out to Norms for a milkshake
  • All the friends in SA whose happy birthdays started my day when I got home this morning
  • The new fruit I tried two days ago and my first Cali earthquake two weeks back
  • Learning what “blue moon” means.
  • Seeing Klown yesterday. Funniest movie I’ve seen in years (despite being sexist, dodgy on asian issues… etc.)
  • Being healthy, full of shit and more loved than hated on the whole.
  • Discovering the many wonders of North America – an amazing place.

Of course, sometimes, complaining is the right thing to do. I believe that, and nobody will ever shut me up. Some things matter and need to be said, no matter how unpopular it makes me.

You’re sick of hearing about it? Imagine how sick we are of saying it. Yes I’m talking to you, Mitt. Ugh.

My latest News24 column is a weird one. It’s about what I’d vote for, if I could. Please forgive the lack of formatting. That stuff is kinda beyond my control once I submit it.

Leave a Reply

