Two weird images of sexy African-ness

Let me NOT tell you about my day. For legal reasons. There’s something in the air at the moment, like I’m one of those fly-sticks for conflicted people. They spot me and come to die all over me. And then I have to go shower again. It’s not me… it’s them. Ha.

Instead of talking about my day, let’s tackle a strange image of two ways in which women can be made to seem far more exotic than we really are.

Of course, that’s not to deny that we women are both complicated and awful at times, or that people have weird racial fetishes (I won’t even call them tastes, since even gender can sometimes be overcome for love).

But this is some weird stuff. It’s presented as beauty – and the women are beautiful. But the gaze I sense from these photos makes me feel weird. It makes me wonder what is really being seen. Airbrushed island-girl poverty and airbrushed asses…

I'm guessing these are some of those "ironic coffee table" books. I have one called Naked Yoga. I suspect it was my Dad's. It was full of pictures of sepia blonde 70s girls doing yoga, naked.

Reminds me of another post. This one, about the Magazine Racks of the USA. A place of strange wonder, for sure.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

