These are a few of my favourite things

Feeling a little tender, woke up a little late… oh Cape Town. Will I survive two weeks of this? Anyhow, I took some photos as I passed my past.

Oh just go ahead and mock my dreams why don't you. "Skolly" - actually spelled Skollie - is Afrikaans for "gangster without the threads".

Cape Town is beautiful. It's often annoying, pretentious, unmistakeably colonial in places. But walking around town, you'll feel good. Most people feel grateful to be there rather than in so many other places they could have wound up.

A cafe in SA is a shop. No coffee will be sold. In Durban they may call them tea houses. No tea is sold. But you can buy eggs for R1.50 each, fresh veggies, less fresh bananas... and a pen knife. I love corner cafes and thanks to 7-elevens they're a dying breed. I bought a coke. Miss SA coke. Real sugar (unlike US coke) but less sweet than Mexican coke.

The Labia is Cape Town's art and indie cinema. They're not named after the female genetalia, but after the Italian family who own them.

A chain. But they have free wifi, and breakfast with coffee for R20. That's about $2.50 to you, America, since it includes VAT (no tax to add up).

Vida e Caffe. It offers pretty much everything Starbucks does, but with food that actually tastes of something. I guess it's a Portuguese / Mozambiquan / South African take on the model.

And that’s where I am, uploading before I go buy some gifts and stuff. I might pop into Toi Toi – a toy shop that’s named after a pun on the toyi-toyi – a protest dance we all learned at marches and things back in the 80s and 90s, if we didn’t grow up with it (I didn’t, being a honky and all that).

This is where I wrote this post.

Tags:

5 Responses to “These are a few of my favourite things”

  1. Jannie Says:

    Glad to hear that you enjoy the Mother City again. I miss it. Snoek too. And calamari served in a large skillet on the stoep of the Chapman’s Peak Hotel. By the way, the last pic is flipped horizontally – probably because of “feeling a little tender, woke up a little late…” 🙂

  2. jeanbarker Says:

    Actually it’s not flipped horizontally by me. It’s just that the Mac photobooth app is retarded that way. And I don’t have software to flip it back. Need to get photoshop. Where are you that you’re missing CT, Jannie?

  3. Spear The Mighty Says:

    How I miss home…

  4. Shannon Says:

    Oh my goodness, you’re right up the street from me! Would love to meet you for a drink if you have time. (But understand meeting internet correspondents falls far down the list when you have friends and family to see.)

    But I take issue with Vida being like Starbucks, because they only have about 6 drinks on their menu. Sbux is consummately American because you can make up your own drink and they will make it, so your choices are limitless. Cinnamon dolce white mocha, which is basically a cinnamon roll in a cup? Yes please.

Leave a Reply

