Signs of Spring and Memories of Nasturtium sandwiches

Orange trees are awesome. They’re laden with fruit at the moment, and covered in blossoms. Multitasking. And everywhere things are going crazy. The world feels new. Yeah, I have those kinds of songs in my head. So shoot me.

The days are lengthening. The nights are cool instead of chilly. The sun is giddy in the sky. I am beginning to think about the sea and look forward to playing in cold, salty waves again.  And tonight, while filling a not-awkward silence with awkward conversation all of my own making, I remembered nasturtium sandwiches and spent a while attempting to explain why anyone would want to eat them. My mom used to make them for us. They were really simple when I was a kid: Fresh, white bread, preferably warm. Spread with too much butter. Cut nasturtium leaves and place on top. Eat! There’s a fancy pancy version here where you blend the leaves in with cream cheese and place the flowers (which taste sweeter) on top as garnish, which I might have to try with my new discovery, queso fresca or “fresh cheese”, which is like salty ricotta that doesn’t stick in your throat – really delicious.

Where were you hiding? Boing.

Anyhow, I remembered playing treasure hunting with my little brother and stopping to eat nasturtium sandwiches in the shade of a saringa tree, and that, among other things, not all of which are memories, made me smile.

Time to plant new seeds already.

California, you still got it. You amaze me.

Jasmine is my favourite flower. It's like the orchid of suburbia, I guess. It can't be plucked. And the smell always reminds me of september. It's a little disorienting smelling it here. I keep thinking it's already my birthday again.

Orange is in decorating limbo right now, with most of the houses back to craftsmen-style dignity, but others still sporting decorations for a variety of past events: Christmas, Halloween, and Valentine's day are all popular choices. St. Patrick's day seems to be mainly popular with car dealerships and well, duh... bars.

But anyway, for whatever reason, it’s good to feel this way today.

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Signs of Spring and Memories of Nasturtium sandwiches”

  1. Matthew Says:

    Back in Cape Town, the seasons appear to have turned on a dime. Yesterday, the day before, and the day before … and so on … we still had the most glorious hot days and nights. Today the wind is cold and blowing hard.

    I don’t mind. I am going to get a book, get a pizza, and go to bed early, not fucking WORK, and be asleep before nine.

    Yes, Jean, the laziest bloke on the entire planet (me) has been working hard. And I want to stop. But I can’t. Have to be in JHB by 9am tomorrow.

  2. jeanbarker Says:

    Ha. Asleep before 9. That’s so weird. What’s in that pizza? Glad you’re working hard. I guess at some point you had to realise that superior intelligence could only get you soooo far. Oh and by the way, I’m not entirely sure which Matthew this is, so I’m hoping my comments will apply to any of you. Men generally need to supply some distinguishing information aside from laziness for me to tell them apart :-).

Leave a Reply

