Lost among the headshots on a film school notice board – someone’s famous secret

As all great acting teachers will tell you, doing nothing is serious business. I struggle with these 10-minute breaks they give us at film school. Ten minutes isn’t enough time to actually do anything or go anywhere. But it’s just enough time to wonder whether you should be being productive. I guess people need to pee, and get coffee from the machine, but I don’t see why we all have to do it at the same time.

Any case, I was doing nothing earlier today, in the Actor/Director class interval… Interval! It’s exactly like in interval at the theatre, in which you always just enough time to queue in the insufferable crush of overly-perfumed ladies and pontificating trendies to order a coffee and not enough time to drink it. Except now it’s undergrad directors, who’re always, always short a quarter at the vending machine. Why? Why not a dollar? Or a dime? Always a quarter.

What do you do when you have nothing to do at a party? You stare at the bookshelves. Well there aren’t any in the Dodge College Film School corridors. So instead, I read the notice boards. And tonight, something caught my eye.

I'm like this, except with boyfriends.


Hidden amid the headshots from actors hoping to break in or built their reel, the out-of-date posters for extra expensive courses like the trip to Cannes, the ads for rooms to let and cars to buy… a famous secret, on a postcard. If you turn it over, you get this.

Actors... they're everywhere here in California, but unfortunately not all of them are real. The postsecret.com event happened in December and I could kick myself for missing it.


Turns out it was also an out of date advert. But there was something about seeing it when I’d just come from an acting class, and while surrounded by pictures of actors. The weirdest thing I’ve learned about acting is not how hard it is (it’s really hard) or how much I now respect actors (I really do). The weirdest thing I’ve learned is that though it’s all about portraying other people, most great actors find out how to do this by knowing themselves better. A painful process. And it takes a lot more than a haircut to make it look natural. It takes rediscovering your own experiences and yes, your own secrets, and using them to make feelings for others.

Go to postsecret.com for more – it’s one of my favourite blogs, full of great ideas for short films, and a place where everybody gets their five minutes of infamy without ever getting found out.

The professor I’m learning the little I know about acting from is the awesome Tony Spiridakis.

Tags: , , , , ,

7 Responses to “Lost among the headshots on a film school notice board – someone’s famous secret”

  1. Tweets that mention Lost among the headshots on a film school notice board – someone’s famous secret « Jean Barker's Sign Language -- Topsy.com Says:

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Jean Barker, Jean Barker. Jean Barker said: Lost among the headshots on a film school notice board – someone's famous secret http://wp.me/pTAEQ-mP […]

  2. The Burg Says:

    i love your eye for obscure detail.

  3. Silvestrini6Vanzandt Says:

    The summer time is seeking to of the year. Any one can perform lots of things and also happenings. Having getaways with locations specifically to seashores. On this season exactly where styles get untamed, styles and also design and style will be in tournaments. Summer is like a phase on which females can wear outfits in accordance with their particular personal preference, exhibiting their particular sexy along with trim number to their content material. Within summer time, garments of sunshine coloration seems to be vibrant, providing people with a sense lack of time. Sohu.com

  4. Dong Says:

    Hi Facebook performs well however your site is loading slowly which had taken about
    a few minutes to actually load, I’m not sure whether or
    not it’s my very own issue or your web site problem. Nevertheless, Thank you for publishing an incredibly awesome articles.
    Almost everyone who came to this website should have discovered this informative article extremely useful.
    I really hope I’ll be able to get a lot more remarkable things
    and I also should flatter simply by saying you have carried out good
    work. To obtain more information through posts you write-up, I actually have book-marked this web site.

  5. Wilfred Says:

    Hey there Your current website starts up seriously slow to me, I not really know who’s issue
    is that on the other hand youtube starts fairly good. Anyway,
    I appreciate you for publishing an incredibly great article.
    Nearly everybody who actually discovered this web site should have noticed this content honestly
    valuable. This is without a doubt fantastic what you have done here and want to discover a
    lot more nice content from your website. I now have your site bookmarked to see blogs you post.

  6. Tommy Says:

    Hi! Your webpage is loading slowly , the site went on just like a minute or so to
    actually load up, I actually do not know whether it is just simply
    me or perhaps your web-site however google and yahoo loaded acceptable for me.
    Nevertheless, I appreciate you for publishing a remarkably excellent article.
    Everyone who discovered this web site should have noticed this particular
    article incredibly valuable. I am hoping I will be able to find further amazing information and
    I really should compliment simply by saying you have done awesome work.
    Just after taking a look at your blog post, I have book marked your web page.

  7. dota2hack.org Says:

    Hello there other internet sites works well in my situation however your website is starting steadily which actually took close to a minute to
    be able to load up, I don’t know if it is my personal issue or your website issue.
    Nevertheless, I’m going to thank you very much for including amazing post.
    Perhaps this has become necessary to lots of people who came in this article.
    I personally must mention that you actually have done amazing job with this and hope to find
    out more awesome things through you. Just after viewing
    your articles, I’ve bookmarked your site.

Leave a Reply

