Beyond you’re with us or against us – San Francisco

I don’t mean to sound like that annoying lady from Eat Pray Love, but travel is the ultimate therapy. Which makes travel to a place where you feel instantly at home a cure. I feel free here. I am beginning to see why people in Northern California think they’re better. Then again, I fall in love with every city I visit – and it’s even worse in the USA, where every city seems to be amazing in its own way. Next thing you know I’ll be going on about how amazing the Midwest is, although a guy I spoke to for a few hours (who now works for George Lucas in San Fran, how’s THAT for a dream come true) says I’d get into trouble in a matter of minutes out there.  Apparently if you don’t like American football there, they throw you in a pond. If you float, you’re a witch, and they take you out and kill you. If you drown, you might not be a witch, so your parents can proudly bury you in the church yard.

Okay, I made all that up. But I’m still scared to go.

Got me that pony I always wanted... Yes, I buy American. It's part of my communist disguise.

Been bumping heads with patriots lately. There’s nothing wrong with loving your country. But come on already and relax. There’s no need to make it a “you’re with us or you’re against us” game. Just because I don’t love everything about it all the time doesn’t mean you need to gag me with a flag or make me listen to “America the Beautiful” sung in that weird hot potato accent you use for anthems and shit.

Nothing like a bit of political protest to make me feel at home in this big, big sky. Here's what it's all about: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MYToGI1NxpU

Now that that’s out of the way, here are some pictures of American Beauty as I see it.

About last night... I'd love to know the story behind how these sunglasses wound up there.

The park on top of the world.

I want to play I want to play.

Leave a Reply

