How much is that doggie in the window?

How much is that doggie in the window / The one with the waggly tail?/ How much is that doggie in the window? I do hope that doggie’s for sale / I must take a trip to California… I will always smell pancakes when I hear this song. For some reason, it always seemed to play on the radio when my mother made pancakes on Saturdays.

The drugs must have been really, really good back in 1952. That’s all I can say…

I thought of it today because I wound up killing 15 minutes in a pet shop. I should never go in there. I always leave feeling terribly sad – and today was  no exception. They were having their own Black Friday sale at the pet store. They usually have some puppies on sale there actually. As they get older, they get less cute, and cheaper.

Puppies - now 50% off!

It always seems to me that they also get more desperate as they grow – as if they’re aware that nobody is going to want them, soon. As they grow older, they sleep less, and notice more, and take up more space. They tend to get separated and wind up on their own on a cage instead of with other puppies to play with. They come right up to the glass and lick it sometimes. Love me, love me, please won’t you love me? They seem to say.

And if they do get picked, I guess they’ve got it good. They’ll live in luxury. They’ll probably never have to fight for a thing. They’ll be loved. And they may even wind up buried in one of America’s many Pet Cemeteries… which by the way are nothing like the flawed near classic horror movie of the similar name.

All alone. Guarranted for one year.

I am often tempted to pull out my credit card and buy all of them. I can imagine, staring at them through the glass, how good they smell. Nothing smells as good as a puppy. I can never resist Dalmatians, in particular. I also like Boxers. And kittens.

Hey kitty kitty... They're not cheap, but cute things aren't - not in the end.

But I know it’s a terrible idea. A crazy, insane, nutcase idea. The last thing I need now is something tying me down. Freedom may be another word for nothing left to lose, but it’s also painless. If you are unfortunate enough to understand what I just wrote… I’m truly sorry.

The sign on the boxer's window, design to break your heart - says "I am going home today!"

I just hope it doesn't end like this.

Tags: , , , , ,

4 Responses to “How much is that doggie in the window?”

  1. Shannon Says:

    Even sadder is that pet store pups animals all come from these gruesome puppy mills and are usually in quite poor health because of the conditions. Female dogs made to have three or four litters a year and weaning them far too soon. You have a better chance of getting a healthy animal at a shelter or through an accredited breeder. The pet stores are no-go areas. But it’s even sadder for the animals trapped there I guess.

  2. jeanbarker Says:

    I’m not seriously considering buying a dog, any more than I’m seriously considering trying heroin. But if I were… I’d have to take the boxer.

  3. Shannon Says:

    I understand the feeling. I want a dog, but…no point in getting one for just a year. Not fair to the dog (or my emotional health when the year is up).

  4. lpobryan Says:

    You capture the sadness well. Great posts here. Insightful stuff. Way to go.

    LP

Leave a Reply

