Why are these signs on this lawn?

What happened – did someone decide to erect this late at night after a bottle of pinot? Do they feel strongly about the alienation of mass pop culture? What is this all about? I am used to stuff like this popping up around Cape Town – I archived about three years’ worth on my old letterdash blog that’s unfortunately fallen prey to a squatter. And seemingly random hearts are the latest trend there.

A few thousand students must walk past every day. Every one of them stopped to read this.

Close-ups

"Why in the world do strangers feel the need to talk to each other at airports? I will never understand this." Well I don't know. I do. I talk to strangers all the time. Why not? I also sometimes don't talk much to friends. But most of all I don't understand why you put this sign on your lawn. I mean, I like it, but I don't get it. I love it. I don't get it.

And then on the other side, of the same sign… this!

"Life before google - a short story" BUNNY1: I just thought of something I'd like to know more about. BUNNY2: That's a damn shame.

Google THIS, fucking rabbit cartoon people. On a road near Chapman University. If anyone can explain it, I’d love to know what it’s all about.

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “Why are these signs on this lawn?”

  1. Spear The Almighty Says:

    You would go nuts for the sign here in the UAE. They are seriously funny.

  2. jeanbarker Says:

    So send them to me! Godaellis (@gmail). With your comments would rock. I want to do a scatterlings post where I put up a sign from each city where South Africans are living and a link to their blog. Anyone else reading this, send me your favourite. Jinty, I’m using your awesome “Too much sodomy” poster. Simon! Get it together for me dude. Otherwise I’ll just pilfer my friends’ facebook albums.

  3. robert ferreiro Says:

    I would like to see the picture….but my real slow connection will not show the first….sad..so sad…

  4. leslie Says:

    they’ve put signs on their lawn as long as i can remember. last year, they had one that said “look up”. i can only imagine how much fun they had counting the passersby who actually did, uhm, look up.

Leave a Reply

